Our historic bridges are some of the most beautiful structures in the area. Juniata County is home to four covered bridges, including the Pomeroy – Academia Covered Bridge. Fully restored, it is the longest remaining covered bridge in Pennsylvania. The other covered bridges are Lehman’s Bridge near Port Royal; Beaver Covered Bridge, on the Snyder and Juniata County line, which is passable by car; and the Shaffer Covered Bridge in eastern Juniata County, which is on private property but is visible from the road.
The Old Stone Arch Bridge, over Jacks Creek, is a remnant of the days when Lewistown was a major transportation center and stagecoaches were the preferred method of travel. Built in 1813, and restored in 2006, it is the oldest single-arch stone bridge in central Pennsylvania.
Spanning the Juniata River, the Port Royal Bridge (shown above), is over 1,000 feet long and is high enough to provide a great view of the river. Built in 1937, the nine-panel rivet-connected parker through truss metal bridge was repaired and repainted in 2010. One of the unique features of this bridge system is the side ramp, which is the only access to First Street, situated between the river and railroad tracks. The bridge connects to an older concrete span over the tracks, which was built in 1910 and is being replaced in the coming year.